My Super Awesome, Suicidal, Sleep Deprived Summer!

May has proved to be an epic month for me this year. If June keeps up with the trend, it will be a very happy birthday for this writer indeed! Where to start? Well, let’s begin with the news that affects this website the most.

Last night, I finished my last editing and notes for “Lore: the Legend of River.” So it is complete and ready for an agent/publisher. I realize that at some point, someone will want a rewrite of some type. I’m completely fine with that. But for now, the novel is just perfect in my eyes. Since I won NaNoWriMo last year, I get five printed copies for free from CreateSpace, so I’ll be ordering those up shortly and passing them out among family and friends. I’m sure while reading it later on I’ll find a typo (which will send me into some type of nerdy rage), but I digress. It’s done and complete!

Earlier this month, I received word that my application for graduate school was accepted. So starting in the fall of this year, I’ll be studying for my masters in library and information science at Wayne State University. I didn’t receive any awards or scholarships by any means, but just the fact that I got accepted and I can officially continue my education makes me a happy camper. To add to this, less than two weeks ago, I accepted a full-time job as a logistics assistant at a plastics plant in Metro Detroit. So this summer will be full of work, money making, and saving up for something special. Maybe a Disney vacation with the husband? We’ll see.

Then just to be suicidal with my time, I decided that doing NaNoWriMo in November and Script Frenzy in April just wasn’t enough. So I’m participating in Camp NaNoWriMo during the months of June and August. Since June’s my birthday month, I decided to work on a fanfiction I started two years ago (yeah, I know, remember I’m a nerd?) for “The Enchanted Forest Chronicles” by Patricia C. Wrede. Hopefully a month and 50,000 words will be enough to finish the dang thing. Then in August I’ll continue my work on “The Truth About Catholic School Girls.”

Has there ever been suicide by sleep deprivation? Just curious.

