First Reviews, Crohn’s Flares, and General Chaos

Well my friends, the first reviews of “Lore: the Legend of River” are in and they are promising so far. Of course, the first copies of the novel went to friends and family. So who was the first person to finish? My best friend since high school, Kellie.

Kellie never did sit down and tell me what she thought of each bit of it, but one night after she visited, I found the book sitting on my coffee table with a note written for me in between the pages.

My note from Kellie, up on my board at work to always keep me motivated.

The note itself is special to me, so I’m keeping the details a secret, but the words themselves told me how well my debut was received.

My next review came from my husband, Peter. He started telling me how much he was enjoying it the first hundred pages in. I had to keep telling myself that I should take what he says with a grain of salt because, after all, he is my husband. He wouldn’t want to break my heart right? But half way through, he started to tell me how I should divide the book into two separate parts. Hmm…tempting, but I told him to keep reading since there is a whole story to be told as one. But once he finished, he came over and kissed my forehead.  That has to stand for something right?

I’m currently awaiting reviews and critiques from a few more friends and I’m anxious to hear what everyone has to say. Again, if you have interest in offering a critique, email me at adriannemkarpo@gmail.com with the subject line “Lore Request.”

Since my last post, my summer certainly has gotten busy.  My new job has been going well, but taking up a good amount of my time. With planning to start my masters in less than three weeks (ALREADY?!) I wasn’t exactly ready to have an interruption. But alas, I did.  I ended up spending a long weekend in the hospital with a flare up from Crohn’s disease.  Not fun. But it was the first flare up I’ve had in nearly two years, so I had a good run. Gotta look at the bright side. I’ve been recovering well, but I’m looking forward to getting back into a good, healthy remission. It’s never easy, but I take it day by day.

In the wake of this flare, I decided to switch my Camp Nanowrimo project for this month and I’ve started a memoir about my Crohn’s diagnosis and coming to terms with living with an incurable, and often times unpredictable, disease. I passed the 10,000 word mark yesterday and I’m confident that I’ll finish this one out rather easily. If anything, it’ll prove to be good self therapy as I work towards remission once again.

