Holiday Tunes 2015

First off, I just want to say hello to all those who have noticed that I am doing some reconstruction on my blog. This one is going to be my new main and once I’m fully recovered, it’ll be my place to post writing and library news from yours truly with the new year.

Natural-Remedies-for-Gall-Bladder-Stones1Secondly, what do I mean by fully recovered? Well, here’s the truth. I just had my gallbladder removed a week and a half ago. It blew. Like, not even regular sucked. It has been such a drawn out process  of getting diagnosed, getting it removed, and finally going through this long and drawn out recovery (complete with complications), that I can honestly say that I have never been through a medical experience like this before and I never want to go through one like this again. I think even my worst Crohn’s pain relaxed after a single shot of dilaudid. Some of this? Not so much.

So…how have I been passing the time? Sleep mostly. But over the last day or so, I have noticed that my mood has been so down while everyone else’s is getting higher because of the holidays. And that bums me out in the biggest way because I love the holidays! Christmas is my favorite time of year! Plus we just had our first beautiful snow…

…and I couldn’t even enjoy it. So in order to get myself out of it, I put together my ideal Christmas Playlist for 2015!

I am into a variety of music from oldies to the random and I tried to use this to my advantage when making my selection for this year’s list. While there are some “repeat offenders” on my list (because their work is just so fantastically well done in my eyes/ears), I’d say it’s a pretty nice varied list. What do you think?

Christmas-Music-2

  • “Les Cloches du Hamleau” by Celine Dion
  • “The Nutcracker Suite” by the Brian Setzer Orchestra
  • “I Saw Three Ships” by Sting
  • “A Marshmallow World” by Seth MacFarlane
  • “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen/We Three Kings” by the Barenaked Ladies and Sarah McLachlan
  • “O Come, O Come Emmanuel” by Bette Midler
  • “Early Christmas Morning” by Cyndi Lauper
  • “Baby its Cold Outside” by Seth MacFarlane and Sara Bareilles
  • “Silent Night” by Karen Newman
  • “O Holy Night” by Celine Dion
  • “Oi to the World” by No Doubt
  • “Carol of the Bells” by John Williams
  • “Happy Christmas (War is Over) by John Lennon
  • “Run Rudolph Run” by Hanson
  • “The Christmas Song” by Seth MacFarlane
  • “Let It Snow, Let It Snow, Let It Snow” by Frank Sinatra
  • “What Christmas” by the Drifters
  • “Hanukkah, Oh Hanukkah” by the Barenaked Ladies
  • “Ave Maria” by Karen Newman
  • “I’ve Got My Love to Keep Me Warm” by Bette Midler
  • “I’ll Be Home for Christmas” by Seth MacFarlane
  • “Sleigh Ride” by the Barenaked Ladies
  • “Take a Break Guys” by the Brian Setzer Orchestra
  • “Green Christmas” by the Barenaked Ladies
  • “All I Want for Christmas” by Olivia Olson
  • “Merry Christmas Baby” by Christina Aguilera and Dr. John
  • “The Dreidel Song” by the Barenaked Ladies
  • “Once Upon a December” by Denna Carter
  • “Winter Light” by Tim Finn
  • “Christmas / Sarajevo 12/24” by the Trans-Siberian Orchestra

Among some of my favorite selections on the list are “O Holy Night” by Celine Dion, “Early Christmas Morning” by Cyndi Lauper, “Winter Light” by Tim Finn, and anything I choose by the Barenaked Ladies and Seth MacFarlane.

Celine may seem like a dated choice, but her voice is so rich and entrancing that the climatic chorus in her version of “O Holy Night” gives me goosebumps each and every time. I’m pretty sure anyone who disagrees with this idea must be some type of cyborg (prove me wrong otherwise). “Early Christmas Morning” is a  personal favorite from my youth as it always reminds me of my nieces as young children and seeing their holidays photos, grinning under heads of bright blond hair. Even though they are both college students now, I still think of them as children when I hear this song. “Winter Light” is a bit of an odd choice as it really wasn’t meant to be a Christmas song. It originally came from the soundtrack to The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. But when I listen to the lyrics, I honestly can’t help but think of the Virgin Mary being approached by the shepherds and Wise Men that first holiday, holding the new born Savoir in her arms. Or is it just me?

As for BNL, they are my favorite band and probably always will be. So to see their fun takes on holiday tunes is no surprise. Neither should be my selections from Seth MacFarlane.

For those who don’t know, there is only one man I would probably leave my husband for and that man is Mr. Family Guy himself, Seth MacFarlane. He is a man of multiple talents and the one that makes me swoon is his Frank Sinatra-esque musical ability. Not only is his take on “A Marshmallow World” fun and playful, but when I found out he did a version of “Baby Its Cold Outside,” I got really excited because it meant I’d be able to sing along to a duet with him (my apologies to Sara Bareilles). If you haven’t heard either song, look them up. I promise they will put you in a holiday mood, just like the rest of his album “Holiday for Swing.”

HangtagGallbladder_1024x1024So until I heal completely and get a regular appetite back, I shall sit and do some crochet and listen to my music, revving myself up for the holidays that I knew I will enjoy in the days to come. Until then, might I suggest this adorable gallbladder stuffy as a Christmas present for me? Might as well commemorate the occasion, right?

Leave a Reply

